Avee's Place

Simple thoughts in a complex life

Snow Leopard Unibody MBP Battery Life Test #5 : The Apple Test 2

It turns out that I need a lot of time just to complete the Mac Book Pro battery test. Well, I have completed item #5 in my checklist, which is to repeat the battery test as close enough to the way Apple tested them after a clean install of Snow Leopard.

As with item #2 I did a partial using Apple scenario, only this time I did not start from 100%. I take notes of the battery usage while I was browsing quite heavily searching for the best computer spec for my brother in law. The only applications running were Firefox and TextEdit. We were in a relatively dark room and I constantly adjusted the brightness to be at 50%.

The result : my battery is down 29% in 97 minutes. The average battery usage is 0.2989% per minute, which means 100% battery life would approximately equal to 334 minutes or 5 hours and 34 minutes of usage.

That is not so bad, considering that I was browsing heavily that day, the fans even turned on, something that I do not experience much.

3 responses to “Snow Leopard Unibody MBP Battery Life Test #5 : The Apple Test 2

  1. Pingback: Snow Leopard Unibody MacBook Pro Battery Life Test « Avee's Place

  2. Colin February 5, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Hi.
    I have bookmarked your articles and await your results as I have seen battery life drop a bit since switching to snow leopard.
    There are a few things you can do to improve battery life. I suggest you check this article:
    http://www.anandtech.com/mac/showdoc.aspx?i=3672&p=7

    it talks about safari and 64bit mode which apparently drains the battery faster.
    I tried it and it seemed to work for a while but right now it’s back to the same old for me. Battery predictions don’t even reach 5 hours anymore even at 100% on a 13 inch macbook pro bought in july 09 with 16 cycles and 96% of it’s original charge.

    • avee February 5, 2010 at 8:05 am

      Hi Colin, thanks for the reply.

      Apparently, I am using Firefox for my browser (I need to use its extensions, especially XMarks for sync-ing your bookmarks between machines). Since Firefox is a 32-bit application, this may be the reason why I am getting better battery life.

      At the moment the battery prediction reads 4:07 at 66% of battery charge, programs currently running are Firefox (light browsing), Mail, TextEdit, Activity Monitor, Calculator and System Profiler. My machine is the same as yours with 87 battery cycles in. Please hang on while I complete my last real-world test, I am planning to have it completed by next week. These few months work has been crazy 😛

Leave a Reply

